MCGA elects DeGraff farmer Kirby Hettver president

Kirby Hettver

The Minnesota Corn Growers Association (MCGA) board of directors recently elected Kirby Hettver as its new president for 2017-2018 at its September meeting. Hettver grows corn, soybeans and alfalfa on his farm in DeGraff, Minn.

Hettver is a fifth-generation farmer who has served on the MCGA board of directors since 2014. He has previously served as first vice president and secretary on the board. Hettver’s term began Oct. 1 and lasts one year. He will follow Harold Wolle as MCGA president.

“I look forward to working alongside the state’s 24,000 corn farmers to identify and promote opportunities for our growers while leading a unified voice on issues most important to agriculture,” Hettver said. “In my time as president, I will do my best to advance the mission of MCGA to make Minnesota corn farmers the most environmentally responsible and sustainable in the nation.”

Also at its September meeting, MCGA elected Plato farmer Brian Thalmann as first vice president, Les Anderson (Cannon Falls) as treasurer and Tim Waibel (Courtland) as secretary.

Did you like this article?

Share this post with your friends!