Petersen announced as next Commissioner of Agriculture

Governor-elect Tim Walz announced the appointment of Thom Petersen as the next Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture earlier today. Currently government relations director for Minnesota Farmers Union, Petersen will succeed Dave Frederickson, who was appointed commissioner by Gov. Mark Dayton in 2011.

Following today’s announcement, Minnesota Corn Growers Association (MCGA) President Brian Thalmann released the following statement:

“The state’s corn growers would like to congratulate Thom Petersen on his appointment to commissioner of agriculture. Having had the opportunity to work with Thom during his time at Minnesota Farmers Union, we know he brings the experience necessary to advocate for Minnesota farmers at the Capitol, both within the administration and with legislators, as well as outside the Capitol with those who might be unfamiliar with agriculture. The Minnesota Corn Growers Association looks forward to serving as a resource for Thom as he works to elevate Minnesota’s ag sector.”

MCGA board member Harold Wolle served on the transition advisory board for the Walz administration. Representing the state’s corn farmers on the advisory board, Wolle believes Petersen will be an effective advocate for production agriculture.

“As a Minnesota Corn Growers Association board member, my hope while serving on the transition advisory board was the new commissioner would be a farmer with advocacy experience to be a champion for agriculture with a variety of audiences and sectors. Thom Petersen is a longtime farmer advocate at the Capitol who brings the necessary background to represent our ag community in this important role, and MCGA looks forward to working with Thom in the years ahead.”

Did you like this article?

Share this post with your friends!