MCGA re-elects six grower leaders to board of directors

MCGA at MN Ag EXPO 2017

Written by Jonathan Eisenthal

Delegates to the Minnesota Corn Growers Association’s (MCGA) recent annual meeting at MN Ag EXPO 2017 in Mankato re-elected six farmers to its board of directors.

Paul Henning, Okabena, was re-elected to represent District 1; Tim Waibel, Courtland, District 2; Chuck DeGrote, Clara City, District 4; Noah Hultgren, Willmar, District 5; and Bryan Biegler, Lake Wilson, and Kirby Hettver, DeGraff, were elected to at-large positions.

“Leadership positions are important not only at the state level, but also at the local level,” says Hettver. “As a grassroots organization, our strength comes from our members, and it’s because of our engaged members that we’re able to continue to grow and move forward as an organization.”

Bryan Biegler, a farmer in Lake Wilson, currently serves as vice president of the Murray County Corn and Soybean Growers. Biegler was re-elected to a three-year term on the state MCGA board.

“There is so much going on in agriculture right now – from water quality to the Farm Bill,” says Biegler. “It’s important to me to be able to contribute to those conversations, and share feedback and ideas from farmers in my area of the state.”

MCGA has over 7,000 members, making it one of the largest grassroots agriculture organizations in the United States. Working in close partnership with the Minnesota Corn Research & Promotion Council, MCGA strives to create new opportunities for corn farmers and improve quality of life.

Did you like this article?

Share this post with your friends!